web analytics
Skip to main content

The New Testament is the story of God and His People, the Church. Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John are the four Gospels. Matthew presents Christ as King. Mark presents Him as God’s Servant. Luke presents Him as Man, and John presents Him as God.
Acts is a book of action. Some call it the Acts of the Apostles. Others call it the Acts of the Holy Spirit. In Acts, we see the mission of the Church through the spread of the Gospel.

The epistles show the growth of the Church. The Apostle Paul wrote to new Christians in the cities of Rome, Corinth, Galatia, Ephesus, Philippi, Colossae, and Thessalonica. His epistles taught new Christians what to believe and how to live.

First Timothy, Second Timothy, and Titus are sometimes called the Pastoral Epistles. These books give instructions to churches for choosing officers (pastors and deacons).

The latter epistles give general lessons helpful to all churches. Philemon teaches forgiveness; Hebrews shows the excellency of Christ; James presents faith that works; First Peter deals with suffering; Second Peter teaches to add to faith; First John is about walking in light and love; Second John warns about false teachers; Third John teaches about humility in the Church; Jude warns about apostasy.

Revelation presents the future of the Church.

“To Know God’s Way, Study God’s Word!”

(Highlights of The Old Testament available SWM) Click here.

Leave a Reply